AJE June Challenge – Fireflies, Bar Flies

IMG_0430

Art Jewelry Elements ( http://www.artjewelryelements.blogspot.com ) issued a challenge to make jewelry with a firefly theme for June.

I made some drink markers with three-segmented phosphorescent tails, just like real fireflies have. I used Sculpey Glow in the Dark clay for the tail segments.

Here they are in dim light:

IMG_0431

I also made eight more, with non-glow-in-the-dark tails, in case I had a big gathering:

IMG_0429

Of course, IRL they would go one to a glass.

I had a blast making them. I made three or four every night until all 13 were made. I made a second set for my daughter.

I made an “eye cane” for their eyes and a “wing cane” from translucent clay for their wings. I used “toe ring” sized memory wire for the clips.

I was inspired by some bar flies made some years back by Kim Detmers. Her bar flies were much more varied. All of mine are “beetles”. You can see her current work on Etsy ClaybyKim.

Published by susandolphindelaney

I have been a working woman for over 40 years. I am also a serial crafter. Making Classic Jewelry is my primary focus at this time.

Join the Conversation

32 Comments

Leave a comment