Skip to content

SusanDolphinDelaney

Healing and Empowerment for Women

IMG_8370

I found this ladder at a garage sale in Madison, WI in 1976, during medical school.

It was oak, very well made, and already gently worn.

During my internship, in 1977, I added a hook and eye and a handle, to allow me to carry it easily. I placed the handle, which I took from a screen door, at its balance point. The hook and eye, from the same screen door, kept it closed when I carried it by the handle.

Life went on. In 2000, when I began to joyfully consider how much better my life would be if I were single again, I painted it white and, in the Christmas season, strung it with white lights.

In 2001, I filed for divorce, and that Christmas, again strung it with white lights.

In 2002, my freedom regained, I painted it hot pink, with sea blue “olives” with magenta “pimentos”, after a Mexican folk art design I admired. I strung it with pink lights under the eaves of my new house.

I did so every year.

Unfortunately, one year not long ago, I left it out in the rain and its “feet” rotted.

I was grief stricken.

Fortunately, my son-in-love came to the rescue. He cut off the bad parts and reset the braces. I am so grateful.

I have a kit to repair the wood rot, but for now I have strung it with hot pink Christmas lights.

It is in my sunroom, just off the kitchen, where I can enjoy it safe from the elements.

I am so grateful to have it!

Tags: , , ,

