Skip to content

SusanDolphinDelaney

Healing and Empowerment for Women

FullSizeRender

The October Art Bead Scene Challenge was based on a painting, “Autumn” by Milton Avery.

autumn-1944 Milton Avery

I made a sincere effort to create some beads from polymer that “went with” this challenge. I designed a necklace with 18 polymer beads and Swarovski pearls. Each bead seemed like a good idea at the time. They didn’t work, although I admit that I learned a lot about the clay in making them.

IMG_8098

Back to the drawing board. I had some beaded beads from Diana Costa Pedret from her Etsy shop Dicopebisuteria in Bacelona, Spain. You might have seen them in the previous post. I originally used the “blackberry” beads in a pendant, but they tangled terribly. So that is how the blackberry beads ended up in this challenge piece. I am not entirely happy with the rhythm of the piece and plan a slight restring of the necklace.

Blackberry Winter picks up the blues, magentas, whites and golds in the challenge painting.

I had fun with it. I have worn the necklace several times and have received compliments on it each time.

See the challenge and a collage of the entries at http://www.artbeadscene.blogspot.com.

You can also see the entries at http://www.pinterest.com/artbeadscene/jewelry-monthly-challenge-entries

Tags: , , , ,

