Skip to content

SusanDolphinDelaney

Healing and Empowerment for Women

IMG_7890

My post for the Earrings Everyday Challenge is just below this one. As you scroll down, check out the glow-in-the-dark earrings in this post.

Ginger Davis Allman of http://www.thebluebottletree.com challenged polymer clay artists to create new polymer objects with an eye to their reactivity under UV light. When she revealed that white Premo clay glowed under UV light, I was IN. I already had a cane, “Blackberry Flower” and had planned to make this pendant for a friend who loves pink. I made it, with faith in Ginger’s statement about the white Premo, even before my black light flashlight arrived. The beaded beads are from DiacopeSupplies on Etsy. Sonia made them for me. When my UV flashlight arrived, I took this photo:

:IMG_7892

The translucent clay making up the flower petals glowed blue under UV! And the background, which had white Premo in it glowed white. The friend who I made this for is a nerd like me and likely will never wear the pendant under UV light.

I was on a roll now. I had long admired the bioluminescent algae Noctiluca scintillans, which inhabits shorelines and glows when waves disturb it. I made a cane resembling the cellular structure of Noctiluca, incorporating some glow-in-the-dark clay.

This picture shows the earrings I made, which are translucent, with light passing through them:

FullSizeRender

I photographed the earrings in darkness, to show their glow-in-the-dark properties:

FullSizeRender

How cool is that?

Next I photographed them under UV light (which was the challenge after all):

FullSizeRender

I hope those photos tickle you as much as they tickle me.

I made up a batch of my Pele opal clay last weekend. I made some of it into a Pele goddess. Pele is the Hawaiian goddess of volcanos. I love that way she turned out:

IMG_7955

I decided to see how she looked under UV light, just for fun. Under a mix of incandescent and UV light that she looks like glowing embers:

IMG_7960

I thank my friend, Ginger Davis Altman, a fellow scientist and nerd, for this challenge.

I had a blast with it.

You can see the other challenge pieces at http://www.thebluebottletree.com

Tags: , , , , , ,

