Skip to content

SusanDolphinDelaney

Healing and Empowerment for Women

IMG_2167

I started doing photography as a girl. Dad was a medical photographer at George Washington University Medical School in DC. We had a darkroom in our basement. Every third week, I’d get to go to work with him on Saturdays and I had access to his lab at the med school.

scan0012 (2)

Here I am with my grandfather and my b’uncle Joe. You can see one of my first cameras around my neck.

In high school I was Photography Editor of the yearbook. I shot and printed half of the photos. I was a great photo processor. I could make my negatives sing.

Tragically, my dad got very sick when I was a junior in high school. He never was able to work again. Somehow the loss of my dad as I knew him got all mixed up with photography and I laid down my camera for decades.

When I got an iPhone in 2005 I began to take photos with it. I didn’t photo finish them at all. I didn’t even crop them.

These last few months I have begun to photo finish my iPhone photos. I have used iPhoto to work on several hundred of my photos. I have been most interested in adjusting photos that I might use to illustrate my haiku. I am an active participant in 3 Facebook forums that have daily prompts for haiku (2) or tanka (1). Tanka are five line poems.

Something clicked in me yesterday. I suddenly had the knowing and body feel that my photofinishing was just what I had been doing from age 7 to age 17. It all clicked.

I still have a lot to learn. And I must learn to use the new camera I bought a month ago. I pulled out the manual for it today. (No one ever accused me of rushing into things!)

I went to the Dallas Arboretum today and took a hundred photos. And photo finished them after I got home.

I still have a lot to learn.

A lot.

Seriously.

All of my previous work was with black and white photos….

Here are a few of the photos I made today:

IMG_2269

This one is a star magnolia. I am crazy about “tulip magnolias”.

IMG_2388

This one is a Professor Einstein daffodil.

IMG_2250

This one is a beautiful silvery-blue foliage plant spilling over the edge of a container.

I’ve started and ended this post with cherry blossoms, two kinds.

IMG_2181

I hope you like my photos!

Tags: , , , , ,

