Skip to content

SusanDolphinDelaney

Healing and Empowerment for Women

photo

This month’s Art Bead Scene Challenge is to create jewelry based on a Cezanne painting of apples using art beads.

I used three of my Apple Blossom beads, one of Sarah Kandall-Gritzmaker’s (SlateStudioSupply via Etsy) pale melon shaped beads, Swarovski crystals, rose quartz beads, a pink seed pearl,  glass beads and some wonderful blossom beads I got a few weeks ago in Santa Fe.

My apple blossom beads use a technique I innovated. I create translucent “lenses” which I wrap in a translucent clay, in this case Granny Smith green. I wrap each bead in a slice of the “lens” clay. The lenses show the tender pink clay in the center of the bead, mimicking the pink and white of apple blossoms.

Tags: , , , , , ,

