Skip to content

SusanDolphinDelaney

Healing and Empowerment for Women

photo

Today is Nelson Mandela International Day, his 95th birthday. To honor the 67 years of public service of this Nobel laureate we are invited to spend 67 minutes volunteering today.

I decided to make some Beads of Courage for my 67 minutes. Because I will miss my polymer clay guild’s workshop on Saturday, which will teach about spiral beads, I decided to make some spiral beads from a little pile of scrap clay that I had on hand.

Swirling the clay under a glass plate was very soothing. I am tickled at how the beads turned out.

IMG_1214

The Nelson Mandela Turquoise that I made recently, also from polymer clay, continues to get kind and generous comments. You can read some of them here:

http://www.jewelrymaking.craftgossip.com/beautiful-necklace-in-honor-of-nelson-mandela/2013/07/04/

So, if it feels right, get out there (or in there, like I did) and give back to the world today, 67 minutes.

Mandela’s contribution to our world was in the area of reconciliation. If you can’t give 67 minutes of time to your favorite charity, consider reconciling with someone today.

Tags: , , , , , ,

