Skip to content

SusanDolphinDelaney

Healing and Empowerment for Women

cocada de forno

In 2001 I took my daughter down to College Station, Texas to have a look at the Honors Program at Texas A&M. It was an overnight for her, so I took myself out to dinner.

I had the most amazing bread. It tasted like coconut. It tasted like I was swimming in coconut! I tried and tried to duplicate it over the years, to no avail. At the time I thought the flavor came from coconut oil in the butter that came with it.

Today I was at Central Market in my town and I got a small cake called Cocada de Forno. Oh my goodness! I was swimming in coconut again. This time the Coconut Heaven came with an ingredient label. Coconut flour was the first ingredient. Duh! Butter, sweetened condensed milk, coconut milk, sugar and flour brought up the rear.

The mystery is solved. I can have coconut heaven anytime. Mmmm.

Tags: , , , , ,

