Skip to content

SusanDolphinDelaney

Healing and Empowerment for Women

When my daughter was in college she had a wonderful Chemistry teacher who gave a special award to any student who scored above 100 on an exam. The award inducted the student into the Royal Order of the Pink Flamingo.

I shared a photo of flamingos with my daughter yesterday on our private Pinterest board.

2085203085_1ba2d249cf

We got to emailing about the Royal Order of the Pink Flamingo.

Meanwhile I had been admiring some polymer clay beads I’d seen on Flickr which the artist called “Flamingo”. I’d already been studying photos of flamingos to see what colors I would use for MY flamingo necklace.

It became clear to me that I had to make a flamingo necklace for my daughter to commemorate her induction into the Royal Order of the Pink Flamingo so long ago.

This morning I sat down and composed a stack of flamingo-ey colors. I took three good slices from it and made the necklace and earrings below. I used a “feathery” texture stamp on the solid hot flamingo backing on the pieces.

photo

This picture is a good one but it does not capture the sizzling, vibrant interplay between the colors I chose, which included Florescent Pink; Lively Medium Purple; Orange; Magenta Pearl and Candy Pink.

As I made my stack of colors, I began to think of the Damascus cane, a polymer clay technique adopted from a technique Japanese sword makers use. I had enough of the stack left after the slices you see above to do the cane. The technique involves twisting the stack three full turns. I made the beads and earrings below from the Damascus cane:

photo

I still had trimmings from the original stack and the Damascus cane. I had made some gorgeous marbles last week from some flamingo-ey colors topped with my lacy white clay. I got the idea of mixing the bits of flamingo colors with lacy white clay. I made the pieces below:

photo

 

I still had clay…it was starting to feel like Groundhog Day, the movie!

So I made six marbles for my patients and 18 Beads of Courage for the kids.

I am going to give all three sets of flamingo jewelry to my daughter tomorrow when we have lunch at a tapas bar. I am so proud of her.

Tags: , , , , ,

