Skip to content

SusanDolphinDelaney

Healing and Empowerment for Women

IMG_0007

Some time back I acquired three Yellow Submarine tee shirts from Threadless. I actually started with just one, but got such positive reactions to wearing it that I ordered another two when they went on sale.

Wherever I go people smile and comment about the shirt. Recently, however, they have started singing when they see it.

A few weeks back, on my trip to DC, I was browsing the gift shop of the National Gallery of Art. A super-preppy guy, a clerk in the store, likely a summer intern, saw my tee shirt and burst into song!

The next day, I was wearing another of them and was moving through the security checkpoint at the airport. The guy who had just x-rayed my bags saw my tee shirt and started singing, “We all live in a Yellow Submarine”.  Immediately, the woman behind me in line started singing it, too. We three sang it all the way through.

The funniest reaction I ever had to the shirt came in Hot Springs Arkansas. I’d just finished a hike along the “Promenade” in Hot Springs National Park (where I got a half dozen grins and comments about the shirt) and went downstairs to meet my haiku friends for dinner in the hotel restaurant. Only one friend had arrived. He looked at my shirt and started naming all of the gray submarines. Turns out he was a submariner when he was in the Navy. He DIDN’T EVEN SEE the yellow one!

I finally understood the Threadless name for the tee: Know Your Submarines.

BTW, I took the picture after I finished knitting a “brain” hat. I’m wearing it in the photo….

Tags: , , , , ,

