Skip to content

SusanDolphinDelaney

Healing and Empowerment for Women

photo

Last month the North Texas Polymer Clay Guild had a bead making workshop in lieu of our regular program. We made all of the beads you see here that day. The beads were on display at our meeting today. The beads have been baked and are ready to ship to Beads of Courage. Children who are very ill (often they have cancer) are given one of these beads for every procedure they undergo and every milestone they come to.

Would you like to make polymer clay beads for this worthy endeavor?

Visit

http://www.beadsofcourage.org/pages/beadartists.htm

to learn how you can participate.

Briefly any bead that is harmless to kids is OK. The kids string them on a cord, so the preferred hole size is 3/32″, but the program is flexible. Beads should have no sharp edges or parts that could break off.

I hope it will bring a tear to your eye to know that some kids have bead strings ten feet long.

I will be using the scrap clay from each project to make one or more Beads of Courage. I have laid in a supply of plastic coffee stirrers to use to pierce my beads. They give me just the right size hole. I make one or more at the end of every claying session.

I have found it super easy to do this.

photo

This one is just a ball of silver glitter clay rolled into a shooter marble size. I put dots of colorful clay on the surface, rerolled it and baked it. This bead is going to make a child very happy.

Tags: ,

